Vista….

Even just hearing the name makes some people shudder. I used to think that the name meant pretty interface but really nothing that worked under the hood. Then I started to use it. Every day that I moved around in the smooth interface made me think that everyone was wrong about the operating system.  And then it all came crashing down. It seems like I can’t use my laptop with vista on it lately without it something hanging or the whole system restarting. This will be the start of my adventure to try and fix the beast and bring it back up to a usable level. 

First thing on the list will be fixing windows explorer. Right now it boots up into windows explorer and a black screen behind it. It’s usable in that you can go find explorer.exe manually and start up the desktop and the task bar but who really wants to do that every time they boot up their computer. I’m running a malware scan on it as we speak and will report the results back here. If that doesn’t help, I’ll have to do some more digging.

I hope I don’t have to go back to XP to get a usable computer but XP seems to be the one that actually works right now.

~ by Ross on December 3, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
