Acer One Laptop – First Impressions

It’s tiny. Really tiny. That is my first impression of it. My second? I hope my fingers fit on the keyboard. Ok. They do. We’re set then!

Aside from being physically very small in size with an 8.9 inch screen and having relatively small keys this mini machine is a full on laptop. It runs the Intel Atom processor with 1 GB of RAM and a 160 GB hard drive. These days with 600 dollar machines coming with 4+ GB of ram it’s not much but hey, it weighs less than 1 kg with the battery.

It is the ultimate travel machine. It’s small and it’s light and it even has a built in webcam and microphone. I’m heading to Australia in May and am going to take this with me but I was skeptical of it’s usefullness before I purchased it. I was worried it would just end up being weight I’d carry around, never use and entirely regret bringing. I suppose that may still turn out to the be the case but after using it for a few days, I highly doubt that is going to happen.

Everyone will definitely be able to read blog posts written whilst sitting on the top of mountains watchin the sun rise or relaxing on beaches watching the sun go down. The possibilities are endless with this tiny machine and I fully intend to explore them all!

Ross

think outside

~ by Ross on January 23, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
